Della Krause Thielen Voluntarism Award

The Della Krause Thielen Voluntarism Award was established by the family of Della Krause Thielen in her honor and memory.  “Dudie” Thielen, a native of Lake Charles, was devoted to the betterment of her community and her life exemplified the spirit of voluntarism and leadership.  This award is given by the Junior League of Lake Charles.  It is presented each year, as appropriate, to a person, project, or organization that also exemplifies a true commitment to voluntarism and makes a strong impact on the community.  The first award was presented in 1994 and a fund was established to present a cash donation to a charitable organization of the recipient’s choice.

The Community Advisory Board of the Junior League of Lake Charles serves as the selection committee for this award.  Nominations are submitted by community agencies and individuals.  Criteria for the award include a variety of community service, outstanding leadership skills, overall effectiveness and tenure of community service, and perseverance in accomplishing a project.

Click here for the 2017 – 2018 Nomination Application


Honored Recipients:

2017-18   Burton Stigen

2016-17   Michelle Mudd

2015-16   Howard Foreman

2014-15   Chester Moses

2013-14   Daniel Ieyoub

2012-13   CASA – Court Appointed Special Advocates

2011-12   Senator Willie Landry Mount

2010-11   Monte Hurley

2009-10   Geri Christ Landry

2008-09   Team Citgo

2007-08   Leslie Harless

2006-07   Poddy Champeaux

2005-06   (Not Awarded)

2004-05   Dr. John Stubblefield

2003-04   Linda Breaux

2002-03   Shady Patton

2001-02   John Friend

2000-01   Dave McCarty

1999-00   Laura Alexander Leach

1998-99   Barbara Isdale Bankens

1997-98   Robert J. Pumpelly

1995-96   Calcasieu Parish Library Board

1994-95   Rose Spencer

1993-94   Calcasieu Arts & Humanities Council